The County Treasurer is responsible for mailing Property Tax Statements to the owner of the record, collecting property taxes, and disbursing taxes to the taxing authorities (school districts, towns, the county, special districts, etc.). Other duties of the Treasurer include receiving all monies sent to San Miguel County, maintaining correct and proper accounting of all monies, disbursing monies for obligations of the county on the orders of the Board of County Commissioners, and investing all monies until they are needed.

The Treasurer is an elected position with 4-year terms. Janice (Jan) Stout took office in 2007 and will serve through 2022.

The Treasurer also serves as Public Trustee in San Miguel County.


Tax Lien Sale will be held Monday November 25, 2019. Select Tax Lien Sale page for registration package, tax sale publication and sale information.

Payment Deadlines:

Full Payment - Due by April 30, 2019, US Postmarks by this date are accepted.
Half Payments - First Half Due by February 28, 2019, Second Half Due by June 17, 2019. US Postmarks by these dates are accepted.

We can only accept full or half payments. Checks written for less than the payment amount due plus any applicable late fees will be returned. Delinquent interest will be charged at 1% per month for late payment and is assessed on the first day of each month.