LEOSA Concealed Handgun Permit
The Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) is a 2004 federal law which allows for a qualified retired or separated law enforcement officer to carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with certain exceptions. In San Miguel County, a retired or separated LEO living in the county has one of three options:
Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) for Retired LEO
Retired or separated officers may obtain a CHP from the San Miguel County Sheriff’s Office. It is a standard CHP application but as a retired officer, you will not be required to pay fees during the first five years after retirement.
- Download the application from above (leave it unsigned for staff to notarize).
- Make an appointment with the Sheriff’s Office by calling 970-728-4442.
- Bring the following to your appointment: The completed application (do not sign this form as you will need to sign the application in person, before a notary public at the Sheriff's office), your Colorado Driver’s License or State ID with current San Miguel County address (a utility bill, property tax statement or lease/rental agreement and your original certificate for firearms training (acceptable firearms training includes NRA, proof of organized shooting completions, DD-214 or PCS orders. Online training classes and hunter safety courses will not be accepted).
LEOSA Concealed Handgun Permit (LEOSA CHP)
You may apply for a combined LEOSA Concealed Handgun Permit with our office, in compliance with the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (Federal Law HR218) Retired/separated officers applying for this permit must reside or maintain a secondary residence within the county and meet all other requirements.
- If you have a current Colorado concealed handgun permit issued within five years of retiring from an agency, there is no application fee required and you will not be required to pay the yearly renewal application fee during the first five years after retirement. You will be required to qualify with your handgun on a yearly basis if you want to renew the permit.
- If you do not have a current Colorado concealed handgun permit (issued within five years of retiring from our agency), you must pay a $13 fee yearly to have a name check completed through C.B.I. You will be required to qualify with your handgun on a yearly basis if you want to renew the permit.
If you qualify you may obtain the LEOSA CHP by following these steps:
- Download and print the Retired/Separated CHP application (leave the application unsigned as you will need to sign it in front of a Sheriff’s Office representative).
- Call 970-728-9546 and schedule an appointment.
- Bring the following to your appointment: Proof of residency (Colorado Driver’s License or Colorado ID Card), your photographic identification issued by the agency from which you retired/separated from service as a law enforcement officer (or a copy) and a check made out to 'SMSO', for $13. This fee goes to pay the background name check done by the CBI.
- Once the application is processed successfully submitted, steps will be made to schedule the required firearms qualification.
LEOSA Qualification Only
The San Miguel Sheriff’s Office offers a qualification course for retired law enforcement personnel under the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA). The bill, H.R. 218, exempts qualified active and retired law enforcement officers (LEOs) from local and state prohibitions on the carrying of concealed firearms.
Retired LEOs will need to provide their own firearm(s) and ammunition. Individuals must have their current retired Law Enforcement picture credentials or a letter from their previous law enforcement agency in which they left in “good standing” with a minimum of 10 cumulative years of service to present to the course. Contact Sergeant Mike Westcott at 970-728-0393 to schedule the required firearms qualification course.