News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/17/2018 2:05:00 PM to 5/17/2018 2:06:02 PM.

News Flash

San Miguel County Sheriff News

Posted on: May 17, 2018

[ARCHIVED] San Miguel County Stage 1 Fire Restrictions Starting Monday




Contact: Susan Lilly, Public Information Officer 970-729-2028


May 18, 2018 -- (San Miguel County, CO) – By order of Sheriff Bill Masters, unincorporated San Miguel County will be placed under Stage 1 Fire Restrictions effective Monday, May 21st at 6 a.m. due to exceptional drought conditions in the region. Restrictions include Telluride Fire Protection District, Norwood Fire Protection District, and Egnar Fire Protection District. 


Stage 1 Fire Restrictions prohibit the following: 

Building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire, campfire or stove fire except within a permanently constructed fire grate in a developed campground, developed recreation site, or improved site.

Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.

The following acts are always prohibited on federally managed lands:

  • The use of fireworks, exploding targets or other incendiary devices. 
  • Leaving fires unattended or unextinguished.

Permitted actions include:

Operating a stove, lantern, or other device fueled by liquid petroleum or bottled fuel equipped with a valve that allows the operator to turn the flame on and off.

Operating an internal or external combustion engine with a properly installed and maintained spark-arresting device in effective working order.


This Order shall remain in effect for 14 days unless adopted by Resolution by the San Miguel County Board of Commissioners. 


Sheriff Bill Masters said that it is each citizen’s responsibility to do their part to prevent human-caused wildfires. “Fire danger is unusually high for our county and neighboring counties. Everyone needs to know and obey all fire restrictions.”


Ouray, Montrose, and Delta counties are also being placed under Stage 1 Fire Restrictions effective Monday. Dolores and San Juan counties have had restrictions in place since May 1st


Telluride Fire Protection District Chief John Bennett said while Telluride is not currently at as high of a risk as the western part of San Miguel County, this is a prudent measure. “Our job is to protect our people and property in our district from fires, and this is one very important step to help reduce that risk.”



The San Miguel Sheriff’s Office, located in Telluride, Colorado and established in 1883, serves 7,800 residents and countless visitors across the 1,288 square miles of San Miguel County. Sheriff Bill Masters has been serving as the county’s elected Sheriff since 1980

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in San Miguel County Sheriff News