
Colorado Death Certificate Request
This office has death certificates for the entire state since 1900. Death certificates are also available in the county Vital Records office where the death occurred. 

Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct 
and tangible interest in the record requested. The penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or 
imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118).

o This request must be completed in full.
o Enclose a copy of a current driver’s license, passport or State identification. (The complete list of  primary

and secondary ID’s are available online at www.colorado.gov/cdphe)
o Enclose appropriate fees.
o Person requesting to receive death certificate must sign below.
o Proof of relationship or legal interested is required (see reverse

side).

   First		     Middle			 Last Email:

Mailing Address				       City			 State		 Zip		 Daytime Phone
(          )

Physical Address				       City			 State		 Zip		 Alt Phone Number
(          )

Requestor Information

Deceased Information

Name of person  
making request

Relationship to deceased 
(must submit proof of relationship)

*see reverse side

Reason for Request:  

o Parent	 o	 Spouse	 o	 Grandparent	 o	 Sibling	 o	 Child	 o	 Funeral Director
o Legal Representative o Other:

o Insurance	 o	Social Security	 o	Property	 o	Genealogy	 o  Other:

o Check here if you are requesting  a certificate of stillbirth

First Middle Last

Month   Day	 Year		 Date of birth or age at death (optional)		 State of birth (optional)

  __  __  __  __
City County State

          Colorado ONLY

 Full name of deceased

Date of death*  
(or range of dates)

Place of death

By signing below, I have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses.    Today’s Date

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:
_____pick up	 _____call
_____mail		  _____email

FORM-VR51 Rev: 8/2018

REQUIREMENTS

Ways to Order:
• In Person: Same day service. Hours are Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.– 4:30p.m.
• Mail Orders: Send check or money order payable to Vital Records to the address listed on the right. Orders are 

mailed in 30 business days after receipt of your request.
• Phone Orders: 1-866-300-8540
• Online Orders: www.vitalchek.com Phone and Online orders are mailed 3-5 days after receipt of the request. 

Vital Records - Certification  
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246-1530
www.colorado.gov/cdphe
Email: vital.records@state.co.us 
Phone: (303) 692-2200

Credit Card Orders**

Card Type:  o Visa   o MasterCard   o Discover   o American Express

Cardholder Name:__________________________________________

Card Number:|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|__|

Expiration Date: __________/__________

**$10.00 convenience charge will be added

($1.00 per year)......................................................................   $_______

Cost of death certificate: $20.00 for one (or search when no record found)
First copy-check one:

o Standard death certificate (entire record)................................................. $20.00 = $_____
o Legal death certificate (all legal and no medical information)......................... $20.00 = $_____
o Verification of death (limited legal information and no medical information)....... $20.00 = $_____

Cost of additional certificates: $13.00 each:
o Standard death certificate (entire record)........................................_____x $13.00 = $_____
o Legal death certificate (all legal information and no medical information)........._____x $13.00 = $_____
o Verification of death (limited legal information and no medical information)......_____x $13.00 = $_____

$10.00 credit card convenience charge (walk-ins excluded).....................  $_____ 

Please check your shipping method:
o Regular mail ($0.00)
o FedEx next business afternoon (check, money order, cash orders ONLY) ($20.00)
o UPS next business afternoon (credit card orders ONLY) ($20.00) $_____

TOTAL CHARGES............................................................................. $_____    

*Search fee where date of death is unknown

(Please Print)

 Charges: (FEES NON-REFUNDABLE) 



Death certificates may issued to:	 Document(s) needed to prove relationship:
Current spouse	 Must be listed on death certificate.
Ex-spouse	 Must present proof of direct & tangible interest  (i.e. Social Security record, 

insurance policy).
Parent	 Must be listed on death certificate.
Stepparent	 Marriage certificate proving relationship to a parent that is listed on death 

certificate.
Grandparents/Great grandparents	 Birth certificate(s) proving relationship required (cannot accept baptismals, 

hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from 
the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Siblings/Half siblings	 Birth certificate showing at least one same parent required (cannot accept 
baptismals, hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a 
letter from the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Children/Grandchildren/Great grandchildren	 Birth certificate(s) showing relationship is required  (cannot accept baptismals, 
hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from 
the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Step-Children	 Marriage certificate & birth certificate proving relationship required.
Legal representative/Paralegals	 Proof of client relationship required as well as proof of the client’s relationship 

to the registrant.  
Opposing counsel	 Certificate will be mailed to court w/ motion to seal “confidential record.” 

Name, address and case number of the court required.
Genealogists	 Notarized signed release from immediate family member required as well 

as proof of the family member’s relationship. Certificate marked “For 
Genealogical Use Only.”

In-laws/aunts/uncles/nephews/nieces/ cousins	 For death certificate 25 years or younger- Must present proof of direct & 
tangible interest (i.e. insurance policy, personal will, etc.).

  For death certificates over 25 years- Must present proof of relationship (a 
family tree would be acceptable for this case)  Death certificate marked “For 
Genealogical Use Only.”

Probate Researchers	 	Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Creditors	 Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Employer	 Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Beneficiaries	 Proof of direct & tangible interest required (i.e. letter on insurance company/

pension company letterhead that clearly states the applicant is a beneficiary or 
is eligible to file a claim).

Insurance companies	 	Proof of direct & tangible interest required (Insurance policy).
Hospital/Nursing home/Hospice/Physician	 Proof of patient relationship required.
Funeral Directors	 Must be listed on death certificate. 
Informant	 Must be listed on death certificate.
Others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible 
interest when information is needed for determination 
or protection of a personal or property right	 Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Attorney-in-fact/Agent (Power of Attorney)	 Must present a Durable Power of Attorney that has been signed by the 

“principal” (person they are representing) and notarized.  Durable Power of 
Attorneys are indefinite unless specified in the document or upon death.  We 
do not accept Medical Power of Attorney.  Review the Power of Attorney 
carefully, since some provide a limited amount of authority to the “attorney-in-
fact”/”agent”.

Consular Corps/Consulate offices	 Must present credentials verifying their connection to the Consulate
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