Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
The Disabled Veteran Exemption is available to applicants who sustained a service-connected disability while serving on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States, were honorably discharged, and were rated by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs as one hundred percent “permanent and total” disabled, and have owned and occupied the home as his or her primary residence since January 1 of the year of application. Limited exceptions to the ownership and occupancy requirements are detailed in the qualifications section of the application.
You can apply for the Disabled Veteran Exemption in person or by mail. Apply in person at the Assessor’s Office or mail your completed Disabled Veteran Exemption form to: Colorado Department of Military and Veterans Affairs Division of Veterans Affairs 1355 S. Colorado Blvd, Building C, Suite 113 Denver, Colorado 80222.
Surviving spouses of previously qualified veterans may also apply for exemption by completing the Disabled Veteran Spouse Form and mailing it to the above Denver address.
The taxable value (assessed value) of your property is a percentage of its actual value. For 2022-2023, those percentages are as follows:
The State Legislature is responsible for setting these percentages.
Follow these simple steps to compute your taxes:
1. Actual Value X Assessment Percentage = Assessed Value
2. Assessed Value X Mill Levy = Estimated Taxes
For Instance: The Actual Value of your improved residential property is: $ 400,000. The residential assessment percentage is x .0695. So, your Assessed Value is: $ 27,800. The Mill Levy of your Tax Area is: x .044235. So, your estimated taxes are: $ 1,229.73.
You can find you tax area by finding the approximate location of your property on the
You find your current Mill Levy by looking at right hand side of the current
Questions regarding your taxes can be answered by the San Miguel County Treasurer’s Office. Their number is: 970-728-4451.
Tax bills are sent out no later than the last business day of January of each year. For questions concerning your taxes, please call the Treasurer’s Office at 970-728-4451.
Full payment of taxes can be made by April 30, or half payments can be made by February 28 and June 15. For questions concerning your taxes, please call the Treasurer’s Office at 970-728-4451.
All persons possessing or controlling personal property with a total actual value greater than $7,900 (per owner, per county) on January 1, 2021 are required to report their personal property to the Assessor by April 15, 2021. Personal Property Declaration Schedules are mailed to every person, business, or company known to own, possess or control taxable personal property in the county during the month of January.
The value of your personal property is based on information submitted by you on your Personal Property Declaration Schedule, which is sent to you in January. You must return (file) your Personal Property Declaration Schedule by no later than April 15th of each year. The information you provide on your Personal Property Declaration Schedule includes the original cost or the item and the year the item was put in service. A depreciation schedule is used to adjust the value of the item according to type and industrial life span of the personal property. If you fail to return your Personal Property Declaration Schedule, the value of your personal property will be determined using “the best information available.”
If the value of your personal property as reported in your Personal Property Declaration Schedule is less than $7,900 (the Exemption Level), then a Notice of Valuation will not be sent and you will not be taxed for your personal property.
Owners of taxable personal property may challenge the County Assessor’s valuation of their property between June 15 and June 30 of the current tax year. A Personal Property Protest Form is attached to the taxpayer’s Personal Property Notice of Valuation. Taxpayers who disagree with their personal property valuations may object by U.S. Mail, by FAX, in person. If the taxpayer wishes to protest by mail, the protest must be mailed to the San Miguel County Assessor, P. O. Box 506, Telluride, Colorado, and postdated no later than June 30. If the taxpayer wishes to protest by FAX, the protest must be FAXED to 970-369-1007 by no later than 5:00 PM Mountain DST on June 30. If the taxpayer prefers to protest in person, the protest must be delivered to the offices of the County Assessor, 333 Colorado Avenue, Second Floor, Telluride, Colorado, by no later than 5:00 PM Mountain DST on June 30.
A Personal Property Protest Form is included in your Personal Property Notice of Valuation, or you can download a Personal Property Protest Form online.
The Assessor must make a decision on your protest and mail you a Notice of Determination by July 12, 2021. If you are satisfied with the Assessor’s determination, the tax bill you receive the next January will be based on the value and classification reflected on the Notice of Determination.
If you are not satisfied with the Assessor’s determination, or if you do not receive a Notice of Determination from the Assessor, you must file a written appeal with the County Board of Equalization (P. O. Box 1170, Telluride, Colorado 81435) on or before July 20, 2021. The County Board of Equalization will notify you by mail of the hearing date, time and place where you may present evidence to substantiate your case. Note: To preserve your appeal rights, you may be required to prove you have filed a timely appeal; therefore, we recommend all correspondence be mailed with proof of mailing.
The County Board of Equalization will conclude hearings and render decisions by the close of business on August 5th. The County Board must mail you a decision within five business days of the date of its decision. If you are satisfied with the County Board’s decision, the tax bill you receive next January will be based on the valuation and classification reflected in the County Board’s decision.
For tax years 2021 and 2022, Colorado County Assessors are required by law to reappraise all real property to reflect a June 30, 2020 level of value. That level of value represents a ‘snapshot’ of property values during an 18 month period from January 1, 2019, through June 30, 2020.
By May 1, the County Assessor will mail a Notice of Valuation to all property owners. In intervening years (even-numbered years, i.e. 2022, 2024, etc.), that valuation appears on the Tax Bill sent to you by the Treasurer's Office.
Your Notice of Valuation is a document you receive in May of every odd year (2019, 2021, 2023, etc) giving you the current value and classification of your real property as determined during the Valuation Period. The Notice of Valuation also indicates the valuation and classification of your property during the last valuation period.
The current Valuation Period is January 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020.
From May 1 through June 1, owners of real property may protest the value or the classification established by the Assessor. This protest period provides an opportunity for taxpayers to inform the Assessor of errors in classification, property description, or other discrepancies that may result in a reduction in value or a change in classification.
If you choose to mail a written protest, you may complete the protest form, and mail it to the Assessor at PO Box 506, Telluride, CO, 81435 or FAX it to 970-369-1007. To preserve your right to protest, your mailed real property protest must be postmarked no later than June 1. Faxes must be delivered by 5:00 PM Mountain DST, June 1, and must be verified as received.
If you choose to present oral or written objections to the Assessor in person, you may elect to complete a protest form and deliver it to the Assessor at 333 W Colorado Ave, 2nd Floor, Telluride, CO. For your convenience, you may make an appointment to speak to an appraiser; however, please call ahead for an appointment at 970-728-3174. To preserve your right to protest, you must appear in the County Assessor’s Office on or before June 1. Please note - after June 1, your right to protest is lost.
If you are not satisfied with the Assessor’s determination, or if you do not receive a Notice of Determination from the Assessor, you must file a written appeal with the County Board of Equalization (P. O. Box 1170, Telluride, Colorado 81435) on or before July 15. The County Board of Equalization will notify you by mail of the hearing date, time and place where you may present evidence to substantiate your case. Note: To preserve your appeal rights, you may be required to prove you have filed a timely appeal; therefore, we recommend all correspondence be mailed with proof of mailing.
Evidence includes documentation such as the sales prices of properties similar to yours that sold during the Valuation Period; or between January 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020.
Abatement petitions may be filed within two years of the date the taxes were levied (January 1st of each year), provided that:
1. The property valuation was not appealed previously for that specific tax year and an Assessor’s Notice of Determination issued; or 2. If it was appealed, the abatement petition is not based on overvaluation by the Assessor’s Office; and 3. The person filing for abatement was the owner of record during that year.
Note: The abatement process is independent of all other forms of appeal and is reviewed on the merits of information provided with the filing of the abatement petition. The taxpayer is to attach any supporting documentation to the abatement petition
Abatements must be filed within two years after January 1 of the year following the year in which the taxes were levied. For example, a taxpayer has until the first working day in January of 2023 to file an abatement petition for tax year 2020.
By law, the abatement review process must be completed by the Assessor within six months.
If the Assessor’s recommendation is accepted by the taxpayer, and if the amount to be refunded is less than $10,000, then the abatement is sent to the Treasurer’s Office for the refund to be processed.
If the Assessor’s recommendation is accepted by the taxpayer and if the amount to be refunded is more than $10,000, then the abatement must be approved by the Board of County Commissioners and it must also be approved by the Colorado Property Tax Administrator.
The Senior Citizen Property Tax Exemption is available to applicants who are at least 65 years of age as of January 1 of the year of application, who have owned their home for at least 10 consecutive years as of January 1, of the year of application, and have occupied it as their primary residence for at least 10 consecutive years as of January 1 of the year of application. The Senior Citizen exemption is also available to surviving spouses of senior citizens who met the requirements on any January 1 after 2001. Limited exceptions to the ownership and occupancy requirements are detailed in the qualifications section of the application.
You can apply for the Senior Exemption in person or by mail. Apply in person at the Assessor’s Office by filling out and filing a Senior Exemption Form. You can also apply by mail. Simply print out and complete the form and return it to the Assessor’s Office at P. O. Box 506, Telluride, Colorado 81435.
Senior Citizen Exemption Instructions
San Miguel County does allow senior citizens and disabled citizens to work a maximum of 100 hours per year for the county in order to offset what they owe in property taxes. Please call the Chief Deputy Clerk to the BOCC at 970-728-3844 for details. The Application for Employment can be found here, along with County Resolution 2009-34.
The County Public Health Order in effect as of June 1, 2020 does allow for short-term lodging in phases and with restrictions. Phase 2 began on June 18, 2020 with 50% maximum occupancy and Phase 3 is anticipated to begin on July 13, 2020 with 75% maximum occupancy. The progression through phases is dependent upon the county metrics and case trends as determined by San Miguel County Public Health Department. All Short Term Lodging providers must follow the Lodging Sector Protocol. See Appendix A for additional detail and information.
Governor Polis’ “Safer at Home” order is now in effect until July 1st. San Miguel County is fully in alignment with all current Colorado’s Executive and Public Health Orders except as specifically set forth in Public Health Order #2020-06 regarding Short Term Lodging. For additional information and guidance on the current state orders, please visit the State’s Public Health and Executive Order Resources page. For industry-specific questions, visit the Safer at Home page.
The Center for Mental Health understands our community is struggling during the COVID-19 outbreak and they have a Support Line available for people to call. According to their website, "The Center Support Line is a free, 24-hour call line for you to connect with our caring staff when you need a listening ear. Our staff are here to listen to you and help you during this tough time. Each of us occasionally needs to talk, to break away from the isolation, and to express our emotions in a healthy, non-judgmental, and confidential manner. Let us support you during this difficult time."
Please call The Center Support Line at 970.252.6220.
San Miguel County staff are manning a hotline and are able to answer your non-medical questions concerning public health orders and more. The hotline number is 970-728-3844. If you do not want to speak to someone on the phone, you may send an email to email@example.com.
No, at this time there are no plans to close roads or barricade any community. Public transit will be open, but people must only use it for purposes of performing Necessary Activities or to travel to and from work to operate Businesses or maintain Critical Governmental Functions. People riding on public transit must comply with Physical Distancing Requirements to the greatest extent feasible.
No, the local schools have set up online learning for all grades and this will continue through the end of the 2019-2020 school year. The Telluride School District and Norwood school districts are offering basic food assistance for families in need Monday-Friday. Please call 970-369-1205 for more information.
Many non-critical businesses are allowed to open as of May 2nd as long as they comply with strict precautions lined out in the current public health orders. It is recommended that you contact the business to ensure they are open and their customer protocol.
Businesses that are currently not allowed to be open to customers for use on the premises are: restaurants, food courts, cafes, coffeehouses, and other similar places of public accommodation offering food or beverage for on-premises consumption, bars, taverns, brew pubs, breweries, microbreweries, distillery pubs, wineries, tasting rooms, special licensees, clubs, and other places of public accommodation offering alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption (With the exception of take-out or delivery services); gyms, except for the limited purpose authorized; and movie and performance theaters, opera houses, concert halls, and music halls.
The 2020 Census reports a total population of 8,072. The population as of the 2010 Census was 7,359.
Approximately 66% of the lands in the county are managed by Federal and State agencies.
You must be 18 years of age or older on the date of the next election to register to vote at all elections. However, a person who is 16 years of age or older but will not have reached 18 years of age by the date of the next election may preregister and upon reaching 18 years of age, the person is automatically registered. In addition, a person who is 17 years of age on the date of a primary election or presidential primary election and who will be 18 years of age on the date of the next general election is entitled to vote in the primary election or presidential primary election.
A person must be at least eighteen years of age by the date of the next election, be a citizen of the United States, and has resided in Colorado at least 22 days immediately prior to the election at which the person intends to vote.
Registering to vote can be done online at www.govotecolorado.gov, in person at the Clerk & Recorder’s office, at the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Driver License division or at a Voting Service and Polling Center during an election.
Voters may register through Election Day. Please note that how you register to vote will impact how you receive your ballot.
An unaffiliated voter can choose to list a preference in order to receive a particular party ballot rather than affiliating with the party. Any unaffiliated voter may, but is not required to, declare a political party affiliation when the voter desires to vote in a primary election, or the voter may declare his or her political party or political organization affiliation at any other time during. An unaffiliated eligible voter need not declare an affiliation to vote in a presidential primary election.
Yes, you must present an ID when you come in to vote. The address on the ID must be from the state of Colorado. Learn more about accepted forms of identification click here.
Withdrawing a voter registration can be done online at www.govotecolorado.gov as long as you still have your Colorado driver’s license or ID card number. If that is not available, use this form and submit it to the Clerk & Recorder’s office.
The term "residence" generally means the principal or primary home or place in which a person lives. A "residence" is a permanent building or part of a building and may include a house, apartment, condominium, room in a house, or mobile home. You must have a residence to register vote.
A mailing address is location where mail is received. Many in San Miguel County have a separate PO Box from their residence. This can also be used for students away at any institution of higher education.
A ballot address is a third mailing option for receiving a ballot. An example for use of a ballot address would be when a voter is away from their permanent residence each year during the same time. If an election falls during that time, the ballot will be sent to this address. All other election material will be sent to the mailing address.
Please note, once any address is established, it will not be changed until the voter changes by either going online or completing a new Colorado Voter Registration Form and submitting it to the Clerk & Recorder’s office.
If you are homeless, permanently reside in a recreational vehicle (RV), or for whatever reason have no fixed permanent address, you may use any address that you regularly return to and have the intent to remain. This location is referred to as a "home base" (residential address) and may be used for voter registration purpose
When an individual interacts with certain agencies, such as the DMV, they usually will provide information such as name, address, date of birth, etc. This information is then used to register that individual to vote in Colorado.
The voter’s county clerk will verify if they have a complete record to register the individual to vote. If the voter’s record is complete, the county clerk will send a notice to the voter that they are registered to vote. The voter can return the notice to either decline to be registered or to affiliate with a party. If the voter does not decline to be registered within 20 days after the notice is mailed and the form is not returned as undeliverable, the elector is then registered to vote.
It depends on what kind of map you are looking for. For most people, the interactive mapping website meets their needs. Several premade maps are available on the Maps tab. Time permitting, the GIS Department can also make custom maps for $75 per hour, with a minimum charge $10. Paper copies of D size sheets are $10 each.
Property information, including owner names and lot numbers, is available as a layer on the interactive mapping website. You can use label tools to label owner names, lot numbers, acreage, address numbers and more.
See the Maps tab. County road maps, zoning maps and more are available in zoom-able, downloadable Adobe Reader files. You can also download and save maps created on the interactive mapping website.
No, you may not bring any books or other reading materials with you. The only books that are allowed into the facility must come directly from the publisher and be addressed to the inmate. Inmates serving extended sentences must make arrangements for these to be picked up at the time of release; however, staff may require excess materials be picked up prior to release. Inmates may donate these materials to the SMC Jail library.
Yes, you may; however, the same rules apply as if you were mailing the letter. You must have all correspondence in an envelope, along with your return address and addressed as follows:
Inmate's Name SMC Jail
684 CR, 63L Road
Telluride, CO 81435
There are two ways to bond a person out of jail:
1. If you have cash in the amount of the bond, you can bring it to the Sheriff's Office and post the bond yourself. You will be required to provide picture identification. A deputy will assist you in filling out the bond forms. Your money will not be returned until after the person bonded appears in court, and the judge releases the bond. When the bond is released, a check will be mailed to you from the court.
2. You can contact a bondsman licensed in Colorado and they can post the bond. A bondsman will charge a percentage of the bond (generally 15%) and require some type of collateral. You must contact the bondsman directly for their rates and requirements.
All persons sentenced to the San Miguel County Jail are responsible for the following prior to or at the time of arrival: 1) Bring a $30.00 booking fee (to be paid in cash at the time of reporting); 2) There is no parking at the jail; 3) Bring a picture ID as it is required; 4) Note that all medications must be pre-approved through the jail medical services (call jail for information). No medications will be permitted without approval of jail medical services; 5) DO NOT report to jail under the influence of alcohol or drugs (including marijuana); 6) All persons sentenced to the jail are required to work under statutory requirement; 7) DO NOT bring valuables other than cash for the purchase of commissary items, phone cards and/or booking fee; 8) Note that Commissary is once per week (Monday); 9) Visitation is once per week (Sunday), 2 pm to 5 pm. Picture ID is required.; 10) Phone cards must be purchased for phone use unless the phone being called can receive collect calls; 11) DO NOT bring books, magazines and/or newspapers to the jail. San Miguel County Jail has a publisher-only rule; 12) White undergarments may be brought to the jail. These items will be washed prior to usage. Women may bring in bras without a wire underwire; 13) Persons sentenced longer than two (2) weeks will be required to purchase personal hygiene items. Hygiene items are not allowed to be brought into the facility; 14) Bring all appropriate court paperwork with you. If you have further questions, call the Jail directly at 970-728-1911 (Option 2)
The San Miguel County Board of County Commissioners currently sits as the County's Weed Advisory Board and has requested that the County establish a Citizen's Weed Advisory Board.
The CWAB would be a group of volunteer citizens of the county who assist the County Weed Manager with reporting weed occurrences and developing a recommended integrative management plan for noxious weeds within the county. The board will help to review this plan at regular intervals, and may develop and adopt eradication or containment standards that are more stringent than state standards based on local noxious weed infestations.
The county noxious weed control program focuses on prevention, education, and technical assistance to the entire county for the control of noxious weeds. Early detection and landowner compliance greatly reduces costs associated with weed management, and elevates the efficacy of control in the county. Noxious weeds do not respect property boundaries and can spread from neighbor to neighbor.
Most noxious weeds grow rapidly March through October, and control is highly dependent on the growth stage of the weed. Each year the county surveys public lands within the county to evaluate the success of our work. We cannot get a complete picture of the severity of noxious weeds without citizens cooperating to report noxious weeds. We assist all landowners in the control of any noxious weed on their property. The use of herbicides is not a requirement, and the county weed department will work with each landowner to achieve eradication and/or control on a site by site basis.
In some cases the County Weed Manager may attempt to provide a courtesy call regarding a report or sighting of weeds from a public place on your property. The Colorado Noxious Weed Act requires county weed programs to notify the county resident of a sighting of noxious weeds on the property by certified mail. In this notification you will receive the name of the weed that was seen, a management objective, and a specified period in which the landowner is required to act upon the notice. Should the landowner not comply, the local governing body reserves the right to issue a warrant to enter the property and place a lien on the property for the cost of control.
As written in the Colorado Noxious Weed Act, a noxious weed is "an alien plant or parts of an alien plant that have been designated by rule as being noxious or has been declared a noxious weed by a local advisory board, and meets one or more of the following criteria: (1) Aggressively invades or is detrimental to economic crops or native plant communities; (2) Is poisonous to livestock; (3) Is a carrier of detrimental insects, diseases, or parasites; (4) The direct or indirect effect of the presence of this plant is detrimental to the environmentally sound management of natural or agricultural ecosystems.” (Colorado Noxious Weed Act, 35-5.5)
According to the Colorado Department of Agriculture, "Noxious weeds threaten valuable wildlife habitat and natural resources, cause economic hardships to agricultural producers, and are a nuisance for recreational activities." The U.S. Department of Agriculture estimates that invasive species are found on over 100 million acres of state, federal, and private land and that the U.S. spends over $138 billion per year in total economic damages and control costs.
In addition to economic costs, noxious weeds have a detrimental effect on threatened and endangered species. Some additional resources are below:
Please visit the San Miguel Basin Fair and Rodeo page for information, schedules, etc.
Please send us your comments concerning an upcoming land use application or agenda item and we will include them in packet material for the Planning Commission members. The comment form can be completed and sent electronically.
Please send us your comments concerning an upcoming application or agenda item and we will include them in packet material for the Board of County Commissioners. The comment form can be completed a returned electronically.
When were the new Impact Fees adopted?
The employee housing impact mitigation fees were originally adopted in 2007. On July 6, 2022, the San Miguel County Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) adopted an update to the Employee Housing Impact Fee, which became effective on July 15. This is not a new fee; it updated an existing fee.
Why are Impact Fees changing?
Prior to the adoption of the employee housing impact mitigation fees in 2007, people building one- and two-family residences were required to construct a deed-restricted accessory dwelling unit or caretaker unit on their property. With the adoption of the impact mitigation fee in 2007, it was no longer necessary to build a unit, as the employee housing impacts were mitigated by the fee. The fees have always been based on a specific mitigation rate related to the square footage being built. As adopted in 2007, the impact mitigation fee provided for an annual increase, but the top of the scale was reached in 2015.
How is the Impact Fee structure determined?
Impact fee payments are required for residential construction (single-family and two-family) in the unincorporated county within the Telluride R-1 School District. The updated mitigation fee is based on a Market-Affordability Gap approach, which looks at the difference between the free-market price of housing in the Telluride region and an amount that is affordable to those living in the community and earning 100% of the Area Median Income (AMI). This same method is used by the Town of Telluride and the Town of Mountain Village. The Affordable Housing Fee Methodology Report describes the fee in more detail.
Is the mitigation rate the same for all new residences?
There are exemptions for homes less than 1,800 square feet in size and for deed-restricted properties. The percentage of required mitigation is graduated, beginning at 30% for houses that are 1,800 square feet or larger, and rising to 90% for houses greater than 4,000 s.f.
How do I calculate the new Affordable Housing Impact Fee?
The adopted Affordable Housing Fee Method Report and Affordable Housing Impact Fee Calculation Worksheet is available online at https://www.sanmiguelcountyco.gov/198/Planning.
What if I build an Affordable Housing Unit (AHU) and rent it out to Qualified Employees?
A property owner who voluntarily constructs an affordable housing unit on site will receive a credit toward the payment of the impact fee. The amount of the credit will depend on the size of the AHU and the primary residence. This permitted unit would be subject to the County R-1 Housing Deed-Restriction and Affordable Housing Unit Deed Restriction Covenant. The covenant imposes occupancy requirements on the affordable housing unit. This would only apply in zone districts/areas where second units are allowed.
Is the fee completely waived if I build an Affordable Housing Unit (AHU) and rent it out to a Qualified Employee or is the fee is only reduced?
A credit may be applied against potential impact fees for a residential development depending on several factors. First and foremost, an accessory dwelling unit (ADU) or caretaker unit must be an allowed use within the subdivision where the single-family residence will be constructed. Second, the credit applied for the proposed Affordable Housing unit will be for the Floor Area of the ADU only, and if the impact fee is greater, the balance of the impact fee will be due in addition to the building of the proposed affordable housing unit. The Excel spreadsheet allows you to compute impact mitigation fees with and without the ADU.
If I build an Affordable Housing Unit (AHU), what is the affordable housing submission process and are there any limitations on who we rent to?
An AHU constructed in mitigation for an Employee Housing Impact Mitigation Fee for the single-family residence must be proposed by the Applicant at the time of application for the corresponding Development and Building Permits from SMC Planning and SMC Building Departments. The Applicant must complete the requisite County R-1 Deed-restriction and Covenant document for the proposed affordable housing rental unit within the property, and the separate Covenant Restricting Real Property for Use as Designated Employee Dwelling Rental Unit. The Covenant specifies who is a qualified employee (tenure, source of income, employment). County R-1 Deed-restriction Rental Units may only be rented to individuals and households so qualified as Employees according to the SMC Land Use Code and as a Qualified Household with the San Miguel Regional Housing Authority.
Is the requirement that we build square footage that COULD be affordable housing or is active renting required? If we decide not to rent it for a period of time down the road, will the fee then become due?
The ADU must be fully constructed concurrent with the principal dwelling, and the Covenant recorded prior to Certification of Occupancy. The Covenant Restricting Real Property for Use as a Designated Employee Dwelling Rental Unit contains restrictions on the use and occupancy of the Affordable Housing unit AND requires active renting of the unit in perpetuity. The Deed Restriction can only be terminated by the Board of County Commissioners. If that occurs, the then-current fee would be due.
Where do I find all of the requirements and regulations regarding affordable housing?
Land Use Code Section 5-13 contains the regulations for Affordable Housing, including definitions, mitigation rates, mitigation fee, deed-restriction requirements, and guidelines for affordable housing.
El Condado de San Miguel está implementando una prueba voluntaria en todo el Condado para COVID-19 y solicita a todos los residentes "refugio en el lugar" a partir de esta noche (19/3/20) a las 12:01 am. En los próximos días, obtendremos más detalles sobre cuándo y cómo se realizarán las pruebas. Solicitamos que nos adhiramos al estricto autoaislamiento y que solo el personal esencial viaje fuera de casa durante este período de tiempo.
No, será voluntario. El objetivo de las pruebas públicas generalizadas es comenzar la semana del 23 de marzo. Las pruebas se cobran de forma gratuita y serán administradas por el Departamento de Salud Pública del Condado de San Miguel y el Centro Médico Telluride.
Las pruebas se enviarán a un laboratorio y se espera que los resultados estén disponibles dentro de unos días. La prueba idealmente se repetirá en 14 días para que los funcionarios puedan evaluar si la infección está aumentando o disminuyendo. El análisis de sangre mostrará la inmunidad de una persona para COVID-19 y ayudará a los funcionarios de salud a saber quién está protegido contra el virus y quién aún podría estar en riesgo.
El objetivo es detectar y contener la propagación de la comunidad y proporcionar una evaluación más precisa de la prevalencia de la enfermedad. Los centros de población más concentrados del condado se evaluarán primero y luego se ofrecerán a todas las demás comunidades dentro del condado.
Se están llevando a cabo discusiones y se tomarán decisiones una vez que todos los resultados de la ronda 1 se reciban y se analicen por completo. Salud Pública trabajará con la Junta de Salud para determinar el mejor enfoque.
La Orden de Salud Pública del Condado vigente a partir del 1 de junio de 2020 permite el alojamiento a corto plazo por fases y con restricciones. El Enfoque gradual para la reapertura de alojamiento a corto plazo comenzará con la Fase 1 el 1 de junio de 2020 con una apertura limitada que no excederá el 25% de ocupación máxima. Se anticipa que la Fase 2 comenzará el 22 de junio de 2020 con una ocupación máxima del 50% y la Fase 3 comenzará el 13 de julio de 2020 con una ocupación máxima del 75%. La progresión a través de las fases depende de las métricas del condado y las tendencias de los casos según lo determine el Departamento de Salud Pública del Condado de San Miguel. Todos los proveedores de alojamiento a corto plazo deben seguir el protocolo del sector de alojamiento. Consulte el Apéndice A para obtener detalles e información adicionales.
La orden "Más seguro en casa" del gobernador Polis está vigente hasta el 1 de julio. El condado de San Miguel está totalmente alineado con todas las órdenes ejecutivas y de salud pública actuales de Colorado, excepto como se establece específicamente a continuación con respecto al alojamiento a corto plazo. Para obtener información adicional y orientación sobre las órdenes estatales actuales, visite la página de Recursos de salud pública y órdenes ejecutivas del estado. Para preguntas específicas de la industria, visite la página Más segura en el hogar.
El Centro de Salud Mental entiende que nuestra comunidad está luchando durante el brote de COVID-19 y que tienen una Línea de Apoyo disponible para que la gente llame. Según su sitio web, "La línea de soporte del centro es una línea de llamada gratuita las 24 horas para que pueda conectarse con nuestro atento personal cuando necesite un oído atento. Nuestro personal está aquí para escucharlo y ayudarlo durante este momento difícil. Cada uno de nosotros ocasionalmente necesita hablar, romper el aislamiento y expresar nuestras emociones de una manera saludable, sin prejuicios y confidencial. Permítanos apoyarlo durante este momento difícil ".
Llame a la línea de soporte del centro al 970.252.6220.
El personal del condado de San Miguel está atendiendo una línea directa y puede responder sus preguntas no médicas sobre las órdenes de salud pública y más. El número de la línea directa es 970-728-3844. Si no desea hablar con alguien por teléfono, puede enviar un correo electrónico a firstname.lastname@example.org.
No, en este momento no hay planes para cerrar carreteras o barricar a ninguna comunidad. El transporte público estará abierto, pero las personas solo deben usarlo para realizar las actividades necesarias o para viajar hacia y desde el trabajo para operar negocios o mantener funciones gubernamentales críticas. Las personas que viajan en transporte público deben cumplir con los requisitos de distancia física en la mayor medida posible.
Muchas empresas no críticas pueden abrir a partir del 2 de mayo, siempre que cumplan con las estrictas precauciones establecidas en las órdenes de salud pública actuales. Se recomienda que se comunique con la empresa para asegurarse de que estén abiertos y su protocolo de cliente.
Las empresas que actualmente no pueden abrir a los clientes para su uso en las instalaciones son: restaurantes, patios de comidas, cafeterías, cafeterías y otros lugares similares de alojamiento público que ofrecen alimentos o bebidas para consumo local, bares, tabernas, cervecerías , cervecerías, microcervecerías, pubs de destilerías, bodegas, salas de degustación, licenciatarios especiales, clubes y otros lugares de alojamiento público que ofrecen bebidas alcohólicas para consumo en el local (con la excepción de los servicios de comida para llevar o entrega); gimnasios, excepto para el propósito limitado autorizado; y salas de cine y espectáculos, teatros de ópera, salas de conciertos y salas de música.
No, las escuelas locales han establecido el aprendizaje en línea para todos los grados y esto continuará hasta el final del año escolar 2019-2020. Los distritos escolares de Telluride y Norwood están ofreciendo asistencia alimentaria básica para familias necesitadas de lunes a viernes. Por favor llame al 970-369-1205 para más información.
If it is an emergency please dial 9-1-1. If it is not an emergency you can speak to a deputy by calling 970-728-1911.
We work for the veteran and his or her family, not the VA.
The San Miguel County Veterans Services Office was established by state law to advise and assist veterans, their dependents, and their survivors concerning any VA benefits which such person may be, or may have been, entitled to receive under the laws of the United States or the State of Colorado. The office is not a part of the Department of Veteran Affairs, which is a Federal government agency but serves as a liaison between the claimant and the VA.
Every veteran’s situation and service is unique which is why we strongly encourage the veteran and/or dependent to contact our office so we can answer your eligibility questions based on your military service and situation. Some examples of benefits we can help you with are:
In most cases, you are entitled to most VA benefits as long as your discharge was other than a "Dishonorable Discharge".
The Vet Center provides readjustment counseling services to eligible combat veterans and their family members at no cost. Some of the services provided include individual counseling, group counseling, marital and family counseling, bereavement counseling, and assistance applying for VA Benefits, among others.
Grand Junction Vet Center
2472 Patterson Road, Unit 16Grand Junction, CO 81505
Distance from Placerville: 112 miles
Main Number: 970-245-4156
Farmington Vet Center
4251 East Main Street, Suite AFarmington, NM 87402
Distance from Placerville: 157 miles
Main Number: 505-327-9684
The nearest VA Medical Clinic is in Montrose:
Montrose VA Clinic
Facility type: VA Health
154 Colorado Avenue, Suite 100Montrose, CO 81401-3651
Main Number: 970-249-7791
Services listed: primary care, audiology; other services may be available
VA Medical Centers can provide medical, mental health and other services to enrolled Veterans. To enroll for health care services, a Veteran needs to complete a VA Form 10-10EZ and take a copy of their DD214 discharge paper, copies of any insurance the veteran has and verification of last year’s income to the enrollment office located in the Medical Center.
Grand Junction VA Medical Center (VAMC)
2121 North Avenue
Grand Junction, CO 81501
Distance from Placerville: 111 miles
Main Number: 970-242-0731
Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center (VAMC)
1700 North Wheeling Street
Aurora, CO 80045
Main Number: 303-399-8020 | 888-336-8262
If you are thinking about suicide: 800-273-8255
Get help for PTSD: call 800-273-8255
Get help for domestic violence: 800-799-7233
Get help for sexual assault: 800-656-4673
If you are a wounded, ill or injured Warrior: 800-342-9647
If you have any questions about Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury: 866-966-1020
If you are a caregiver – Caregivers Resource Directory (2018 edition)
Search the Tri-Care Provider Directory.
Copies of Discharge Documents, Service Medical Records, Official Military Personnel File, and replacement medals can be requested through the National Archives. You may request them on your own or you can contact our office and we will assist you with your request. The Veterans Service Office can send a request to the Military Archives Center in St. Louis, MO for a certified copy of your military records. Replacement records can take a lengthy amount of time to obtain. In some cases, the records are not available at the Records Center and must be constructed from military units, facilities, etc.
You can update an address or telephone number with the VA in several ways:
To change your direct deposit information with the VA, you can:
Disability Compensation is a monthly payment made to a veteran who has a disability for a disease or injury that was incurred or aggravated by service in the armed forces. Payments are based on the degree of disability. VA pays additional allowances for your dependents if your disabilities are evaluated as 30 percent or more disabling. A special monthly compensation rate may be authorized for veterans whose service-connected disabilities are very severe and meet certain statutory requirements. Service connection for a disability may be granted based on the following conditions:
Important Note: When a service connection for a disability or disease has been established and the condition worsens, a claim for an increase of the rating should be filed.
Total disability will be found to exist when there is an impairment of mind or body which is certain to continue throughout the life of the disabled veteran and renders it impossible for the average person to follow a substantially gainful occupation. A single or combined disability that is ratable at 100%.
Note: There are specific benefits that apply when a rating is classified as total and permanent.
Individual unemployability may be applied for when there is an exceptional disability factor that substantially interferes with the veteran’s ability to sustain gainful employment. A veteran must meet one of the following criteria:
Temporary 100% Rating for Convalescence
Hospitalization – A total 100% temporary disability rating will be assigned, without regard to the rating schedule, when a service-connected disability has required hospitalization treatment by the Department of Veterans Affairs, for a period in excess of 21 days.
Surgery – A total 100% temporary disability rating may be assigned when your service-connected disability resulted in surgery, post-hospital convalescence, immobilization with a cast, or surgery of a major joint. When the requirements are met, the rating will be effective from the first day of hospitalization and will continue for a period of 1, 2, or 3 months. Extensions may be authorized under certain circumstances.
Special Monthly Compensation Awards include:
Loss of Use:
A special monthly compensation is payable in addition to the basic rate of compensation for the anatomical loss OR loss of use of body members or function, due to a service-connected disability. Examples include: hand, foot, eyes, paired organs or extremities, creative organs, buttocks, kidneys, loss of speech (aphonia), and deafness.
Housebound is an increased monthly pension amount paid to a claimant who is substantially confined to his or her home because of permanent disability. Additionally, if you are a Veteran, you may qualify for the increased housebound amount if:
You may not receive enhanced or special monthly pension without first establishing eligibility for VA pension. However, because enhanced pension is based upon a higher income limit, a claimant may be ineligible for basic pension due to excessive income but may be eligible for increased pension benefits. You may not receive pension at the A&A and Housebound rate at the same time.
Aid and Attendance:
Aid and attendance will be considered when the veteran is so nearly helpless that they are unable to care for themselves and cannot perform basic tasks such as dressing, undressing, keeping clean, feeding, attending to the wants of nature, frequent adjustments of special prosthetic or orthopedic appliances, or to protect them from the hazards and dangers incident to daily living. Conditions requiring this care must be service connected.
When a veteran is in need of a higher level of care (hospitalization, nursing home, or institutional care) because of his service-connected disabilities, a higher level of monthly aid and attendance allowance may be granted.
The VA helps veterans and their families cope with financial challenges by providing supplemental income through the Veterans Pension benefit. Veterans Pension is a tax-free monetary benefit payable to low-income wartime Veterans.
Generally, a Veteran must have at least 90 days of active duty service, with at least one day during a wartime period to qualify for a VA Pension. If you entered active duty after September 7, 1980, generally you must have served at least 24 months or the full period for which you were called or ordered to active duty (with some exceptions) with at least one day during a wartime period.
In addition to meeting minimum service requirements, the veteran must be:
Additional Pension Allowances:
Veterans or surviving spouses who are eligible for VA pension and are housebound or require the aid and attendance of another person may be eligible for an additional monetary payment.
Eligible Wartime Periods
Under current law, VA recognizes the following wartime periods to determine eligibility for VA Pension benefits:
You may be eligible for several types of VA education and training benefits, but there are many things to consider before you apply for a GI Bill program. For most participants, the Post-9/11 GI Bill is the best option. Other students would benefit more from the Montgomery GI Bill. Different programs offer different benefits, so it’s important to choose the program that will best meet your needs.
You can use the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) GI BILL COMPARISON CHART to get detailed information on eligibility requirements and compare the education benefits available through the following programs:
You can compare benefits by schools using the VA Online Comparison Tool.
You can find information on two additional programs at the links below:
The VA directory of Colorado's national and state veteran's cemeteries can be found online. The Veterans Memorial Cemetery of Western Colorado in Grand Junction is the closest to San Miguel County.
The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) National Cemetery Administration maintains three cemeteries in Colorado:
Fort Logan National Cemetery
4400 W. Kenyon Ave.
Denver, CO 80236
Burial Space: Open
Fort Lyon National Cemetery
15700 County Road HH
Las Animas, CO 81054
Pikes Peak National Cemetery
10545 Drennan Road
Colorado Springs, CO 80923
Burial Space: Closed
The State of Colorado maintains two veterans cemeteries:
Veterans Memorial Cemetery Of Western Colorado
2830 Riverside Parkway
Contact: Joana Iglesias, Cemetery Director
Colorado State Veterans Center At Homelake
3749 Sherman Ave.
Monte Vista, CO 81144
P.O. Box 97
Homelake, CO 81135
Contact: Tyler Chacon, Director
Colorado's Veterans Community Living Centers serve honorably discharged veterans, veterans’ spouses/widows and Gold Star parents of children who died while serving in the armed forces. Services provided include long-term care, short-term rehabilitation, memory care, short-term “respite” care, and hospice services.
State Voc-Rehab is an educational or trade training program available to qualified disabled persons. The veteran must meet certain eligibility criteria for enrollment.
State of Colorado Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
504 N 1st StreetMontrose, Colorado 81401
Phone Number: 970-249-4468
VA Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Chapter 31)
If you have a service-connected disability that limits your ability to work or prevents you from working, the Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (VR&E) program—also referred to as Chapter 31—can help. Find out if you’re eligible and how to apply for VR&E benefits and services, like help exploring employment options and any required training needs. In some cases, your family members may also be eligible for certain VR&E benefits.
Veterans Administration (VA) Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (VR&E) eligibility and entitlement information can be found on their website.
Grand Junction VA Medical Center Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor
2121 North Ave.Grand Junction, CO 81501
Main Number: 970-242-0731
Mental Health: 970-263-2824
You can use the Tax Search & Payment button on any page to access the site where you find your tax account and submit a payment.